When I was a kid, I never went trick-or-treating, and we never had trick-or-treaters.  Growing up in the town of Occoquan, we always went to the Occoquan Parade.

In 5th grade, I was wondering what to be for Halloween, and I realized I wanted to be something different.  Something that I didn’t see.  Something unique.  I was sick of the same old costumes.  Suddenly, it dawned on me.  A Haunted House!  So I spent a month making the costume.  I was so happy when I won the first prize for Most Original Costume.  Yay!  My brother also won a prize that same year.  He got Most Scary costume.

I didn’t go trick-or-treating until I was in high school, and I went with my brother.  It was a horrible experience.  These asshole high-schoolers bullied my brother and me, and just followed us around creepily, taunting us.  I hated it.  Then eventually, they stole my brother’s candy, and I yelled something after them.  I felt really REALLY terrible.  I had been bullied since the 6th grade.  The guy was Brandon Carter.  We were psuedo-friends in 5th grade, and then in 6th grade, he started teasing me and bulling me.  Just typing this makes me feel like crying because I was so miserable.  What a dick.   Anyway, I suspect that one of the guys that Halloween was probably Brandon Carter, but since they were in costumes, I couldn’t be sure.  I gave my brother my candy but I don’t think it made it any better.  I know I still felt terrible.  I still feel terrible to this day.

When I was in college…. I found out Brandon Carter had died.  Good riddance.  I don’t hate him, I guess.. I feel sad for him… but…. I’m glad he’s not alive anymore.  Is that horrible?  Maybe.  But… it’s how I feel.

Speaking of bullying, here’s a great excerpt that someone posted to Facebook:

From Andrew The Impaled:  “A teacher in New York was teaching her class about bullying and gave them the following exercise to perform. She had the children take a piece of paper and told them to crumple it up, stomp on it and really mess it up but do not rip it. Then she had them unfold the paper, smooth it out and look at how scarred and dirty is was. She then told them to tell the paper they’re sorry. Now even though they said they were sorry and tried to fix the paper, she pointed out all the scars they left behind. And that those scars will never go away no matter how hard they tried to fix it. That is what happens when a child bully’s another child, they may say they’re sorry but the scars are there forever. The looks on the faces of the children in the classroom told her the message hit home. Pass it on……….or better yet, if you’re a parent or a teacher, do this – Thanks Jaclyn Karabinas”
