I bought an MP3 player from Sandisk for my mom for her birthday.  After a day and a half of giving it to her, the clip broke off.

I emailed Sandisk informing them the clip has broken and asked if they have a repair or exchange policy.

I received an email back from Sandisk Customer Service asking me to verify what the issue was with the player, and gave me some general troubleshooting tips for if the mp3 player was failing technically.

I emailed them back informing them that it was the physical clip that was broken.

They emailed me back a link where I could purchase a new clip for $10.

I emailed them back letting them know that the plastic is broken, so purchasing a new clip won’t fix the problem.

They emailed me back this message:

 (Cerenidad Salvatierra)12/08/2009 09:25 AM
Dear Carolyn,

Thank you for emailing SanDisk Technical Support. It is our goal to make sure you have all the resources you need to get the most from your product.

We regret to inform you that physical damage on SanDisk products voids the warranty as stated in the last sentence on the first paragraph of the warranty:

“…This warranty is void if the product is not used in accordance with the product instructions, or if it is damaged as a result of improper installation, misuses, unauthorized repair, modification or accident…”

Unfortunately, Sandisk does not provide warranty repair services nor sell replacement parts.

Should you have any other concern with our products, please reply to this email.

Best regards,
Che S.
SanDisk Technical Support

 

OK, so now I have a product that has no warranty whatsoever?  Ridiculous!  I do not recommend Sandisk anymore.

