I will blog about the actual trip later, but I felt like blogging about my new skis.

On Thursday, when Ian was loading my skis into Angel’s car, he said, “Hmm, there’s a little bit of separation here.”  I glanced in, and sure enough, the top layer of one of my skis was falling off.  So much for my $10-at-a-yardsale skis!  We loaded up the skis into the backseat and went on our way.

We were going to be stopping at Alpine Ski Center in Sterling to get our discounted lift tickets anyway.  On the way there, I kept thinking about my skis.  I had made up my mind that I wasn’t going to attempt to ski with them, but the question that was rolling around was, “Am I going to have to rent skis?”  Eventually, I asked Angel if while we were at the ski center, if I could have them take a look at my skis and let me know 3 things – If they can be fixed, how much it would cost to fix, and how long it would take to fix…. 

Long story short, we get there, I hand the guy my skis, point out the problem.  He went around back to find out the answer to my questions.  He came back pretty much immediately and said “Nothing we could do.  They’re done.”  I was like, “They’re trash!?”  “Yes.”  So then a thought flashed through my mind, “I don’t need to lug these skis to snowshoe and back if they are trash.”  So I handed them back to the guy and asked for him to dispose of them for me.  Then I quickly said, “Oh wait! You’ll need to take the bindings off!”

A little Angel behind me whispered in my ear at that point, “Hey, Carolyn, while we are here, maybe you should look at skis and see if they have anything cheap you could buy.”  That was it.  The guy took me to the ski area and kinda looked at the skis, and was saying, “I’m trying to find something I could get rid of for cheap in your size.”  Eventually, he picked up a pair of skis that had some black, white, and purple in them.  They looked pretty cool.  The sticker on them said $250.  I asked how much, and he was like “Well, hmm.. What do you think… $200?”  I must have looked slightly unsure because he quickly said “And we’ll install your bindings for free!”  Uhh, ok.  I decided to take the plunge.  So he told me to get my boots so he could fit the bindings. 

I had to get Ian to help me get my boots from the car because the car was packed tight and efficiently, and of course my boots were in the very bottom of the pile.  While Ian was rearranging, I said, “Does this seem like a mistake?” And Ian said, “No.  They’ll pay themselves off.”  I grabbed the box containing my boots and took them inside, leaving poor Ian to put the car back together.  When I got inside, the worker guy made fun of me for still having the box that my boots came in.  He called me crazy. 

Then he said, “I had to switch skis on you because the brake on your bindings wouldn’t work on those other skis”.  I took a peek at the new skis, and they were fine.  They are black with gold squiggly graphics on them.  Fine with me.  Not purple, but I would live.

It was only supposed to take them 10 minutes to install my bindings, so we decided to wait around for them, rather than going to eat and coming back.  So we lounged around the store for about 15-20 minutes.  Angel was lusting after some snowboard bindings, I measured my feet (5 1/2), and we all took a look at the snowboards.  Then finally my skis were ready.

After we got in the car, the buyer’s remorse started.  “Why did I buy new skis?  Clint doesn’t have a job, the economy is in trouble, what was I thinking?  These cost way more then the $10-at-a-yardsale skis!”  Everyone kept telling me that they would pay themselves off because the cost of renting adds up.  Which is true.  And it is definitely less of a pain-in-the-ass to own than to rent, in my opinion.  They said, “Wait until you get onto the slopes with these and feel how much better they are!”

It was true.  I got a pretty good deal.  Though, however, since he switched skis on me, I didn’t see a sticker price on the new skis, so he could have been cheating me.  However, I just looked up the prices online, and $250-300 seems about what they are selling for (even on sale, heh).  So, yay!

And it was also true that once I got onto the slopes, I relaxed a lot.  It was actually kind of nice to know I have brand new updated skis and am not skiing around on these 85-year-old yardsale skis (the date is estimated by the worker at Alpine Ski Center, so that may not be accurate, but I do know they were very very similar to the skis I learned how to ski on — in the third grade).  And they did feel a lot better too.

Now I just have to replace my helmet since Angel told me it might not be effective since that idiot guy crashed into me last year.

Oh, and my poles, which came from the $10 yardsale and also got bent in the spill last year.   I am not worried about the poles though.  I’d just as soon go without rather than buying new ones.  The bent one is only noticable when I’m trying to take my skis off and need to poke the binding with the pole.

While on the ski lift alone once, I ended up paired up with a girl from Ohio.  She had similar skis to mine, so I talked to her a bit about them.  I told her my story, and she asked me what kind I have.  I had no idea, so she wiped the snow from one of my skis and read “Mystery Luv”.  She had “One Luv”.  So, here are some links about the K-2 Mystery Luv skis.

http://www.skichalet.com/K2_Women_s_Mystery_Luv_Skis_p/3419058210780.htm

http://www.usoutdoorstore.com/outlet/k2-tnine-mystery-luv-skis-womens.html

http://www.goski.com/gear/product/K2_Womens_Mystery_Luv_Skis_w_M2_100_Bindings.html

