Since I rarely do yardwork, the weeds in my yard have taken over. And actually, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I was inspired by Vicky to post 10 things in my yard.

Here are a few things I have in my yard.

Ivy and Kudzu:

Kudzu

Silver maple:

Silver Maple

Honeysuckle:

Honeysuckle

A mystery weed that was hard to kill. We took a hatchet to it and it seeped out all this gunky sap:

Mystery weed

Another mystery – this thing looks like spruce, but it’s really really soft when you touch it:

mystery

A creek:

Creek

A carving on a tree from 1956:

carving

A fox:

fox

Daffodils and flamingos:

daffodils

This picture doesn’t do it justice, but there’s a Japanese Maple behind me:

Japanese Maple

UPDATE: I forgot fern:

fern

UPDATE: Duh, I should have used this picture for the Japanese Maple. I had even already noted it months ago. šŸ™‚ UPDATE: It also features the Yellow Poplar.

Japanese Maple

Some other things that I don’t readily have pictures of:

white oak

iris

myrtle

wild raspberry

rhododendron (that’s currently buried)

a pink dogwood tree

and a white dogwood tree that isn’t doing very well.

I also used to have a birch tree but it died, and we used to have some sort of fruit tree that died.

